Olympic winners among Sport BOP Awards nominees

Ohope’s Lisa Carrington won three gold medals at the Tokyo Olympics. Photo: Supplied/New Zealand Olympic Committee.

More than 40 finalists have been announced for the 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards, including junior athletes, Olympians and Paralympians, coaches and community organisations.

Seventy nominations were received for 13 award categories including four new categories to recognise disabled athletes and community organisations for the online ceremony on Friday, November 19.

For the first time in its 50 year history, the awards were cancelled in 2020 due to Covid-19 disruptions, but will resume this year as an online event in response to the latest Covid-19 outbreak.

Among the individual finalists for the 2021 awards are Olympic gold medallists Lisa Carrington, Lisa Adams and Stacey Fluhler, Blackcaps World Test Championship winning captain Kane Williamson, triathlete Hayden Wilde, CrossFit Games athlete Hiko-o-te-rangi Curtis, swimmer Bailey Conlon and rising athletics star Hannah Gapes.

Finalists in the open team category include Mount Maunganui Rugby Club Womens’ who took out this year’s Baywide Women’s Club Premiership. They go up against Upper Central Rugby League Stallions, Tauranga City Athletic Football Club Womens’ and Bay of Plenty Senior Mens’ Volleyball who are all vying for the Team of the Year honour.

Four-time winner Kelly Hudson from hockey and 2018 winner Greg Rieger from surf lifesaving once again make their mark in the Official of the Year category alongside Joanie Coles from netball.

The new award categories of Community Organisation of the Year and Innovation in Sport and Recreation feature several community clubs and groups that have worked tirelessly over the last 12 months to deliver great physical activity opportunities across the Bay of Plenty.

This year leading investment services firm Forsyth Barr has joined the Bay of Plenty Sports Awards as naming rights sponsor.

Tauranga branch manager David McConnochie says Forsyth Barr is excited to have the opportunity to support and celebrate schools, clubs and community organisations for everything they have achieved in the 2021-22 nomination period.

"Congratulations to all nominees and finalists of the 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards,” says David.

Their achievements are an inspiration to us all and testament to the Bay's strong and passionate sport and recreation community. We look forward to celebrating those achievements on November 19."

The Bay of Plenty community will have the opportunity to come together virtually and celebrate all aspects of sport and recreation from grassroots volunteers through to elite athletes.

Sport Bay of Plenty will play host to the online celebration with MCs Philly Angus from Rotorua and former Olympian Sarah Cowley-Ross.

Sport Bay of Plenty sport manager Nick Chambers says the awards are an important recognition of our region’s achievements and resilience over a challenging period.

“Over the last 18 months we’ve had to contend with disrupted seasons, limited or cancelled events and the upending of competition formats,” says Nick.

“Despite the chaos, though, athletes, volunteers, clubs and organisations have managed to find a way forward and achieve great things on the local and international stage.

“Covid-19 has also forced us to rethink how we deliver the awards, but we’re thrilled to still be able to honour and celebrate the incredible achievement of the Bay’s sport and recreation community.”

The 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards will be live and online from 5:30pm on Friday, November 19. Tune in, and find out more about this year’s finalists, by visiting

A list of all the finalists is below.

Holland Beckett Law Sportswoman of the Year

Lisa Carrington


Samantha Winders


Stacey Fluhler

Rugby sevens

Robin Goomes

Mountain biking

Bayleys Real Estate Sportsman of the Year

Hayden Wilde


Scott Curry


Kane Williamson


Aurecon Innovation in Sport and Recreation

Sam’s Skate School

Geyser Culture and Sports Club

Otumoetai Tennis Club

Advocate Print Official of the Year

Joanie Coles


Greg Rieger

Surf Life Saving

Kelly Hudson


Ebbett Tauranga Community Organisation of the Year

Whakatāne Blue Light

Rotorua United Football Club

Te Puke Sports and Recreation Club

Rotorua Mountain Biking Club

BayTrust Coach of the Year

Brendon-Ray Horlock


Craig Kirkwood


Alan Bunting and Corey Sweeney

Rugby sevens

Young Sportsman of the Year

Hiko-o-te-rangi Curtis


Samuel Tanner


Lachlan Stevens-McNab

Mountain biking

Henry Booker

Sports climbing

EVES Realty Young Sportswoman of the Year

Hannah Gapes


Jenna Hastings

Mountain Biking

Keira Allot


Canon Bay of Plenty Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Lisa Adams

Shot put

Te Huia Apaapa

Half marathon, marathon, triathlon,

Young Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Siobhan Terry


Bailey Conlon


Forsyth Barr Community Service to Sport and Recreation

Embargoed until Sports Awards evening

Volcanic Hills Team of the Year

Upper Central Rugby League Stallions

Mount Maunganui Rugby Club Womens' Team

Bay of Plenty Senior Mens' Volleyball Team

Tauranga City Athletic Football Club Womens' Team

Redspot Creative Secondary School Girls' Team of the Year

John Paul College Cross Country Team

Otumoetai College Rowing U17 Double Sculls

John Paul College Clay Target Shooting Team

Mount Maunganui College Premier 1 Girls Volleyball Team

Bay Office Products Depot Secondary School Boys' Team of the Year

Whakatāne High School Beach Volleyball Team

Rotorua Boys' High School Touch Team

Tauranga Boys' College Senior Futsal Team

Tauranga Boys' College Squash Team

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.