SunLive         

Plenty of rugby for the Bay today

Bay of Plenty Steamers. Photo: Supplied.

It’s game day for Bay of Plenty Rugby.

The Steamers will be taking on Counties Manukau in their pre-season hit out today at Massey Park, Papakura. Kick-off is at 1pm.

It’s a double header with teams battling it out for the Farah Palmer Cup and the Asia/Pacific Qualifier for the Rugby World Cup 2023 this afternoon.

Counties Manukau Power Heat will open the afternoon’s festivities with their first home game of the 2021 season - going up against the Bay of Plenty Volcanix at 2.35pm.

Following this will be the Rugby World Cup 2023 Qualification Match Asia / Pacific Qualifier between the Cook Islands and Tonga, which kicks off at 5.35pm.

Both games can be watched live on Prime.

Bringing rugby excitement to Whakatane this afternoon is the Eastern Bay Senior Local 2021 finals action. Matata play Galatea/Waiohau in the Minor Championship Final kicking off at 12.30pm, and Te Teko go up against Paroa in the Major Championship Final which kicks off at 2.30pm. Both finals will be held at Rugby Park.  

In the Farmlands Co-operative club games today, for Premier One Te Puna play Greerton Marist at Maramatanga Park, Te Puke Sports play Tauranga Sports at Murray Salt Stadium, Mount Maunganui play Whakarewarewa at Blake Park, and Ngongotaha play Rangiuru at Ngongataha Domain.

In the Premier Two matches, Arataki plays Rangataua at Arataki Park, Opotiki play Waikite at Princess Street Reserve, Kahukura play Marist St Michael’s at Kuirau Park, and Rotoiti play Judea at Emery Park.

Development kick-off is at 1pm and Premier games kick off at 2.45pm.

In the Western Bay Senior Local matches, Greerton Marist Snrs play Matakana Island at Greerton Park, Field 1. Greerton Marist Colts play Katikati at Greerton Park, Field 2, and Papamoa play Tauranga Sports at Gordon Spratt Reserve. Eastern Districts have a Bye. All the Western bay Senior Local games kick off at 1pm.

Bay of Plenty Steamers 2021 Bunnings Warehouse NPC Draw:

Bay of Plenty v Tasman, Sunday 8th August, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Southland v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 15th August, 2.05pm, Rugby Park, Invercargill

Auckland v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 21st  August, 7.05pm, Eden Park, Auckland

Bay of Plenty v Northland, Sunday 29th August, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Bay of Plenty v Waikato, Saturday 4th September, 2.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Canterbury v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 12th September, 2.05pm, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch

Hawke’s Bay v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 19th September, 2.05pm, McLean Park, Napier

Bay of Plenty v Taranaki, Sunday 26th September, 4.35pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Bay of Plenty v Wellington, Saturday 2nd October, 2.05pm, Rotorua International Stadium, Rotorua

Counties Manukau v Bay of Plenty, Sunday 10th October, 4.35pm, Navigation Homes Stadium, Pukekohe

Semi-Finals: Friday 15th October – Saturday 16th October

Bunnings Warehouse NPC Premiership Final: Saturday 23rd October

Bay of Plenty Volcanix 2021 Farah Palmer Cup Draw:

Auckland v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 17th July 12.05pm, Eden Park, Auckland

Counties Manukau v Bay of Plenty, Saturday 24th July, 2.05pm, Navigation Homes Stadium, Pukekohe

Bay of Plenty v Waikato, Saturday 31st July, 2.05pm, Blake Park, Mount Maunganui

BYE - Week 4, Friday 6th August – Sunday 8th August

Canterbury v Bay of Plenty*, Saturday 14th August, 4.35pm, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch

Bay of Plenty v Otago, Saturday 21st August, 12.05pm, Blake Park, Mount Maunganui

Bay of Plenty v Wellington*, Sunday 29th August, 12.05pm, Tauranga Domain, Tauranga

Semi-Finals: Friday 3 September – Sunday 5 September

Finals: Friday 10 September – Sunday 12 September

More on SunLive...
0 Comments
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.