Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa 2021 draw announced

The trophy the winning team will take home. Supplied photo.

New Zealand Rugby has announced the draw for Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa 2021 with 10 weeks of derby matches to kick off on February 26.

The season will finish with a winner-takes-all Final for the Tū Kōtahi Aotearoa trophy.

The second edition of Super Rugby Aotearoa will kick off at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Friday, 26 February where the Highlanders will host the defending champion Crusaders, with the Hurricanes and Blues rounding off Round 1 at Sky Stadium in Wellington the following day.

The Chiefs will have the opening round bye before hosting the Highlanders at FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton on Friday, 5 March.

All 21 Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa matches including a Final on Saturday, 8 May, will be live and exclusive via new competition naming rights sponsor Sky.

NZR General Manager Professional Rugby & Performance Chris Lendrum says the 2021 season will build on the excitement generated by the first edition of Super Rugby Aotearoa.

“We saw how exciting this home and away format was last year, and all five teams now know what’s required to compete and win every week. With the availability of the All Blacks locked in for round one there are going to be fireworks from the opening whistle.

“It’s fantastic to have some certainty for fans, players and partners after what’s been a year of uncertainty. Confirming the 2021 draw is a significant milestone and a positive step for rugby in New Zealand and we’re thrilled to have our broadcast partner Sky come on board as naming rights sponsor.”

Lendrum also confirms NZR is working closely with Rugby Australia on a trans-Tasman competition and would announce details shortly.

A feature of the Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa 2021 draw is four family-friendly Sunday afternoon kick-offs, two at Eden Park in Auckland and one each at Wellington’s Sky Stadium and at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch.

Each team will have four home matches and two byes with the Final between the top two qualifying teams scheduled for Saturday, May 8.

“We’ve listened to the fans and our players and added a Final, which we think will provide a fitting climax to the competition,” says Lendrum.

NZR Head of High Performance Mike Anthony confirms the All Blacks will be available from Round 1.

“The later start date for Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa means our players will be ready to go on the start line, which is a good result for everyone. From a high-performance point of view it will once again give us an ideal platform to assess our top playing talent going head to head in a high quality competition.”

Sky Chief Executive Martin Stewart says Sky is delighted to support the tournament as naming rights sponsor, and looked forward to delivering a supberb tournament to rugby fans in 2021.

“Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa is a world class competition featuring many of the best players in the world and our coverage and analysis needs to mirror this action on the field.

"We’ll be looking to take fans even closer to the action in every aspect in 2021 and we can’t wait for the first match.”

Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa fact sheet:

  • 2021 will be the second edition of Super Rugby Aotearoa.
  • Sky is the new Super Rugby Aotearoa naming rights sponsor
  • There will be 20 round robin matches with each team playing each other twice on a home and away basis.
  • The 2021 season will include the addition of a 1 v 2 Final to decide the champion.
  • The Crusaders are the defending champions after finishing first at the end of a round robin tournament in 2020, six points ahead of the Blues.
  • The Super Rugby Aotearoa trophy is called Tū Kōtahi Aotearoa (Stand As One New Zealand) and was created by Wellington carver Bill Doyle.

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.