Steamers side named to play Waikato tomorrow

Bay of Plenty Steamers playing Hawkes Bay last weekend. Tomorrow they take on Waikato. Photo Moran Images/Rick Moran

Anticipation and excitement is rising as the 'Steam Team' prepare to head over the hill tomorrow.

Head coach Clayton McMillan has named his Steamers side to play Waikato in this Sunday's Chief's Country Cup match at the FMG Stadium Waikato.

Jordan Lay will play his blazer game - 15th game - tomorrow  to earn his Steamers blazer. 

Kick-off is at 2.05pm.

There will be a Waikato v Bay of Plenty Classics curtain raiser beforehand.

"The match is dedicated to Nathan Strongman, who is battling the terrible illness of cancer," says a Bay of Plenty Rugby spokesperson.

"Throughout his life he has been a committed Fraser Tech club member in Waikato and Bay of Plenty provincial player.

"He has played for Fraser Tech for 13 years and Bay of Plenty for 40 games."

Tickets to the game are available to purchase online here.

Bay of Plenty Steamers v Waikato

  1. Jordan Lay*
  2. Kurt Eklund
  3. Jeff Thwaites
  4. Stan van den Hoven
  5. Kane Le'aupepe
  6. Joe Johnston
  7. Mitch Karpik
  8. Sam Dickson
  9. Luke Campbell
  10. Otere Black (C)
  11. Joe Webber
  12. Chase Tiatia
  13. Mathew Skipwith-Garland
  14. Emoni Narawa
  15. Kaleb Trask
  16. Nathan Vella
  17. Tevita Mafileo
  18. Ross Geldenhuys
  19. Keepa Mewett
  20. Zane Kapeli
  21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi
  22. Scott Curry
  23. Fa'asiu Fuatai

*Blazer game (15th game)

Unavailable due to injury:
Hugh Blake
Aaron Carroll
Dan Hollinshead

Game Day Details:
Sunday  November 8
FMG Stadium Waikato
Waikato v Bay of Plenty
Kick off 2.05pm
Live on Sky Sport 3, Channel 053

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.