Star-studded opening round of Plunket Shield

File photo

A host of BLACKCAPS will spice up the opening round of the 2020/21 Plunket Shield, which will see Northern Districts take on Central Districts at Seddon Park tomorrow.

The first round of Plunket Shield will see BLACKCAPS team-mates for 12 years Tim Southee, take on Ross Taylor in what is a star-studded line-up for Northern Districts. 

Colin De Grandhomme, Ish Sodhi, Neil Wagner and Southee and will all step out for Northern Districts in the teams’ first match of the 2020/21 season.

Northern Districts will be hoping to take advantage of this experience and many will be excited to see emerging talent Katene Clarke named in the 13-man squad, as well as the inclusion of first-class cricketer Jeet Raval.

Northern Districts’ Tim Seifert is unavailable for selection for the first four rounds of the Plunket Shield due to having been picked up as a standby player in the IPL.

It is the first opportunity for the public to see domestic cricket this season after a long winter and with the uncertainty of live sport, anticipation is at an all-time high. 

Play gets under way from 10.30am at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Monday October 19.  Entry is free for spectators.

Northern Districts Men’s Squad | Plunket Shield Round One, October 19 -22, 2020

Brett Hampton
Colin De Grandhomme
Henry Cooper
Ish Sodhi
James Baker
Jeet Raval
Josef Walker
Joseph Carter
Katene Clarke
Neil Wagner
Peter Bocock
Scott Kuggeleijn
Tim Southee
Central Stags:
Greg Hay (captain) — Nelson
Doug Bracewell — Hawke’s Bay
Tom Bruce — Taranaki
Dane Cleaver — Manawatū
Joey Field (uncapped) — Hawke’s Bay
Christian Leopard — Hawke’s Bay
Seth Rance — Wairarapa
Brad Schmulian — Hawke’s Bay
Ross Taylor — BLACKCAPS
Blair Tickner — Hawke’s Bay
Ray Toole — Manawatū
George Worker — Manawatū
Will Young — BLACKCAPS
Coach: Aldin Smith

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.