NZ under 21 netball squad announced

File Image.

New Zealand Under 21 head coach Yvette McCausland-Durie has named a strong NZU21 squad ahead of next year’s Netball World Youth Cup.

Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse shooter Tiana Metuarau who was part of the side which claimed the world title in Botswana in 2017, while a number of players who contested the 2020 ANZ Premiership have also been included.

McCausland-Durie says it's exciting to confirm a squad in what had been a disrupted and challenging year for all netballers.

“This is another step on the journey to next year’s Netball World Youth Cup in Fiji and I’m really looking forward to working with these athletes in preparation for that event.

“While there is a focus on next year’s campaign, this is also an opportunity to work with athletes in a programme that is a key part of the performance pathway to becoming a Silver Fern.

“Despite the disruptions this year, there has been a wide-ranging discussion regarding the make-up of this squad and I’m excited about what lies ahead for this group.”

The Emerging Talent Selection Panel of Adrienne Morrin, Nicki Paterson and Robin Manihera, along with McCausland-Durie, tracked performances throughout a number of events including the 2019 Beko Netball League, national age-group tournaments, 2020 ANZ Premiership and the NZU21 specialist cluster sessions.

There was also consultation with Zone performance managers and specialist coaches in confirming the squad.

New Zealand is aiming to win a third straight Netball World Youth Cup title after claiming the crown in Botswana in 2017 and Scotland in 2013.

NZU21 Squad

Hannah Glen (Mainland)
Vika Koloto (North)
Tiana Metuarau (Central)
Grace Nweke (North)*
Saviour Tui (North)
Khiarna Williams (WBOP)

Tayla Earle (North)*
Georgie Edgecombe (WBOP)
Maddy Gordon (Central)*
Kate Hartley (South)
Holly Mather (North)
Ainsleyana Puleiata (Central)
Renee Savai’inaea (Central)
Teuila Sotutu (North)

Taneisha Fifita (South)
Paris Lokotui (Central)
Parris Mason (Central)
Greer Sinclair (WBOP)
Carys Stythe (North)
Jessie Taylor (North)
Nanise Waqaira (North)

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.