Dale Carnegie scholarship winners celebrated

Supplied photo.

A total of 23 local students received their graduation certificates for completing the 2020 Acorn Foundation Dale Carnegie Youth Programme.

Acorn’s generous local donor, Mary McGowan and her late husband Roy, have been providing the funds for these scholarships since 2010, and more than 250 WBOP Year 13 students have now benefitted from this three-day course.

Acorn has long partnered with the team at Dale Carnegie BOP Waikato and the managers of Priority One’s InStep programme to run this youth-focused course.

"The programme teaches the Dale Carnegie five drivers of success: building greater self-confidence, strengthening people skills, enhancing communication skills, developing leadership skills, and reducing stress and worry," says a spokesperson for the organisation.

"We were thrilled to have Harley Johnston, a 2011 Dale Carnegie scholarship winner who now works for Trevelyan’s as their Continuous Improvement Manager, assist with the course this year, providing the students with perspective on the value of the skills they have learned."

Congratulations to the following scholarship winners:

ACG Tauranga: Ashvir Kahlon, Subina Siwakoti

Aquinas: Molly Curragh, Luke Tucker

Bethlehem: Josiah Grimmer, Bianca Anderson

Katikati College: Caitlin Thorburn, Jared Snowball-Boyes

Mt Maunganui College: Charlotte Drabble, Taika Davis

Otumoetai College: Isaac Smith, Anya Hawkins

Papamoa College: Emily Williamson, Medea Jones

Tauranga Boys’ College: Ethan Lawn, Kane Taikato, Lucas Macmillan

Tauranga Girls’ College: Tania Simpson, Vanessa Williams

Te Puke High School: Ella Carruthers, Joshua Kirkland

Te Wharekura O Mauao: Te Rina Faulkner, Awheto Rameka

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.