Final results for Western Bay Council elections

Final results for the 2019 Local Body Elections in the Western Bay of Plenty have been confirmed.

Garry Webber has retained his mayoral seat with a total of 6537 votes.

Maragaret Murray-Benge received 5203 votes, while Stephen Fawcett received 1905 votes.

Councillors for the Te Puke-Maketu Ward are as follows: Monique Lints with 2454 votes, Kevin Marsh with 2169 votes, John Scrimgeour with 2367 votes and Grant Dally with 2052 votes.

Representing the Kaimai Ward will be Margaret Murray-Benge (2833), Don Thwaites (2823), Mark Dean (2524) and Murray Grainger (2264).

James Denyer (2255), Christina Humpreys (1686) and Anne Henry (1491) will represent the Katikati-Waihi Beach Ward.

Council and Community Board members will be sworn in at the Inaugural Meeting of Council at 1pm on Thursday, November 7. The first business meeting of the new Council is to be held on Thursday, December 5.

The community boards are below:

Te Puke Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

Richard Crawford 1313 1
Gina Davies 359  
Joan Dugmore 729  
Kassie Ellis 1001 4
Stephen Fawcett 927  
Larissa Hika 528  
Richard McNair 579  
Tupaea Rolleston 1155 2
Dale Snell 1142 3

Omokoroa Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

John Evans 630 4
Peter Presland 1078 2
Derek Sage 948 3
Teresa Sage 1080 1
Puran Bhag Singh 622  

Katikati Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

John Clements 1524  
Neil Harray 1963 2
Christina Humphreys 1533 4
Norm Mayo 1314  
Kate Sutherland 1604 3
George Van Dyke 1190  
Ben Warren 2059 1
Kamal Yadav 1315  

Waihi Beach Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

The following candidates have been automatically elected as the number of candidates matched the number of vacancies.

Ross Goudie
Bob Hulme
Marilyn Roberts
Don Ryan

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.