SunLive named best website at CNA awards

Cayla-Fay Euinton, Bianca Lawton, Jennifer Swallow and Aimee-Leigh Brunsdon at the awards in Christchurch.

Locally owned and operated news publisher Sun Media has won best website at this year’s New Zealand Community Newspaper Association Awards.

The awards recognise excellence in community news publishing in the preceding year.

It’s run by the New Zealand Community Newspaper Association, an industry body with members from more than 80 independent newspapers and magazines.

SunLive won best website/digital platform for the third year in a row, while Bianca Lawton is the runner-up for best sales professional (senior).

SunLive has a dedicated team who work around the clock to bring the most up-to-date news for free in the Bay of Plenty.

Sun Media directors Claire and Brian Rogers say they're 'extremely proud' to win best website again.

"We'd like to thank our staff, and of course our readers, without whom we wouldn't be where we are."

CNA president David Mackenzie says the awards recognise the best of the industry.

“The calibre of entries received was extremely high and came from some of the best community newspapers across New Zealand.

“This made the competition for this prestigious award really tight.”

The judges say SunLive is has an excellent site usability and stats.

The awards were the centre piece of the CNA’s annual two-day conference, where members heard from a range of speakers about the industry, including Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Hon Kris Faafoi.

Sun Media is now in its 20th year and is continuing to grow. Not only does it own and operate a handful of print publications, including The Weekend Sun, it now run Rotorua Now - a digital website aimed for the Rotorua community.

Full list of award winners:

Best idea/innovation – Ashburton Guardian; Runner up – The Beacon
Best feature/supplement – The Beacon; Runner up – Metropol Magazine
Best community involvement – The Beacon; Runner up – The Star, Christchurch
Best campaign – Star Media (Christchurch); Runner up – Metropol Magazine

Best news journalist (junior) – Claire Kaplan, Advocate South; Runner up – Charlotte Jones, The Beacon
Best news journalist (senior) – Charles Anderson, Nelson Weekly; Runner up – Terry Moore, Hibiscus Matters
Best sports journalist (junior) – Kayla Hodge, The Ensign; Runner up – John Cosgrove, Clutha Leader
Best sports journalist (senior) – Jon Rawlinson, Rural Living; Runner up – Jon Rawlinson, Eastlife Magazine
Best photographer – Martin Hunter, The Star; Runner up – Loius Klaasen, The Beacon

Best sales professional (junior) – Tessa O’Shea, Gulf News and Waiheke Weekender
Best sales professional (senior) – Emma McDermott, Mountain Scene; Runner up – Bianca Lawton, The Weekend Sun

Best front page (newspaper) – Botany and Ormiston Times; Runner up – The Beacon
Best front page (magazine) – Metropol; Runner up – Express
Best website/digital platform –; Runner up – Waiheke Gulf News
Best magazine – Kiwi Gardener; Runner up – Express

Frank Veale Memorial Award for Best Community Newspaper – The Beacon;
Runner up – Mountain Scene. Special commendations to The Star (Christchurch), Ashburton Guardian and Nelson Weekly.





More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now

Tom Ranger

Posted on 24-06-2019 12:53 | By

Congratulations Sunlive. I’m often amazed that somehow someway you guys are on the scene before the police! It’s amazing and your coverage comes across as totally unbias. The website is useable and not overladen with advertising. The comments section is appreciated and on every article. I just wish people used them a bit more sometimes. Great job guys. Keep up the good work.

Well Done

Posted on 24-06-2019 12:24 | By Laurie