Smokefree Rockquest heading to BOP for 2019

Andre Moffat of Blackout who were the 2018 Bay of Plenty second place winners. Image: Supplied.

The Bay of Plenty regional Smokefree Rockquest heats are set to take place on Saturday May 18.

Now in its 31st year, the nationwide high school music event is expecting record entries with heats and finals held in 21 regions around the country from Whangarei to Invercargill.

Smokefree Rockquest is run simultaneously with Smokefree Tangata Beats, which aims to nurture Pasifika and Maori culture in a contemporary music setting.

Participants, all enrolled in schools around the region, will perform on a professional stage. They will experience a full set up with stage lighting, sound, a projected backdrop, and technical support in a show that includes a professional guest band and MC.

Founder and director Glenn Common says the benefit for entrants goes beyond the rush of performing on the day.

“The creativity, thought and work that goes into preparing a song to present on the day is huge, and goes beyond just musical skill. There is a great sense of pride and achievement to be gained for all the students involved.”

Prizes for Smokefree Tangata Beats and the solo-duo category for Smokefree Rockquest will be named at the heat, and the top 12 bands will be selected to play off at the Bay of Plenty final on Saturday June 29.

The Bay of Plenty bands performing on Saturday May 18 are:

ignition – Tauranga Boy’s College.

Delta – Otumoetai College.

High Resolution – Bethlehem College.

Amplified Persona – Western Heights High School.

Suds – Otumoetai College.

M.O.M. – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

trooint – Otumoetai College.

Background Noise – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

Bird House – Otumoetai College.

Drop Dee – Tauranga Boy’s College.

Rift – Bethlehem College.

The Hills – Te Puke High School.

O.C.D – Papamoa College.

CANVAS – Mount Maunganui College, Papamoa College and Tauranga Girl’s College.

Good Morning Good Night – Mount Maunganui College and Mount Maunganui Intermediate.

icy fire – Rotorua Boys’ High School.

Eryler – Te Puke High School.

The Green Room – Mount Maunganui College.

Armed Goldfish – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

Saint Klaed’s Computer – Otumoetai College.

Malaprop – Mount Maunganui College.

Vibes – Bethlehem College.

Anointed - Edgecumbe College.

Orua Stream (Smokefree Tangata Beats) – TKKM o Ruamata.

And the solo-duo acts are:

Louie Campbell – Katikati College.

Sustain – Bethlehem College.

Walrus – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

RAW – ACG Tauranga.

Katrina Porter – Otumoetai College.

Paras – Bethlehem College.

Brianna Hilton – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

Bree – Katikati College.

Max Harvey – Rotorua Boy’s High School.

Jazz Rice – Papamoa College.

Oscar Brady – Bethlehem College.

Shayna Nash – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College.

Kelsie Tong – ACG Tauranga.

Foreground Noise – Taupo-nui-a-Tia College and Western Heights High School.

Apollo – Rotorua Boys’ High School.

Cherrysauce – Western Heights High School.

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.