Chiefs reshuffle for Hurricanes match

Chiefs halfback Brad Weber. File photo

Gallagher Chiefs head coach Colin Cooper has reshuffled his twenty three ahead of this weekend’s derby match against the Hurricanes at Westpac Stadium on Saturday.

A new front row of Atu Moli, Nathan Harris and Angus Ta’avao will start, with Atu at loosehead shifting Angus to tighthead.

Harris returns to start with Liam Polwart named as reserve hooker. Lock Michael Allardice will captain the side in the absence of co-captain Brodie Retallick who is on All Blacks leave.

The return of Michael sees Tyler Ardron move back to number eight and Taleni Seu shift to the bench.

Two changes have been made in the backs with Solomon Alaimalo returning at full back, while Tumua Manu moves back to start at centre.

A reshuffle in the reserves bench sees the inclusion of loosehead prop Tevita Mafileo to the match day squad along with halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, experienced first five-eighth cover Stephen Donald and midfield cover Alex Nankivell.

Sosefo Kautai and Jesse Parete remain as tighthead and loose forward cover.

Head coach Colin Cooper says he will be wanting his team to deliver an improved performance this weekend.

“This weekend we need to be more disciplined and alert if we are to be competitive. We had a good tussle against the Hurricanes at home last month, we know this weekend will be no different.

“We need to ensure our defence systems are strong and we are quick to our feet. If we can combine that with patience and control on attack, we should be in a good space.”

Gallagher Chiefs:

  1.   •  Atu Moli (30)

  2.   •  Nathan Harris (51)

  3.   •  Angus Ta’avao (25)

  4.   •  Michael Allardice (40) (c)

  5.   •  Mitchell Brown (29)

  6.   •  Luke Jacobson (18)

  7.   •  Lachlan Boshier (38)

  8.   •  Tyler Ardron (18)

  9.   •  Brad Weber (65)

  10.   •  Marty McKenzie (23)

  11.   •  Ataata Moeakiola (7)

  12.   •  Anton Lienert-Brown (62)

  13.   •  Tumua Manu (8)

  14.   •  Sean Wainui (21)

  15.   •  Solomon Alaimalo (30)


  1.   •  Liam Polwart (22)

  2.   •  Tevita Mafileo (6)

  3.   •  Sosefo Kautai (9)

  4.   •  Taleni Seu (42)

  5.   •  Jesse Parete (16)

  6.   •  Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (25)

  7.   •  Stephen Donald (105)

  8.   •  Alex Nankivell (15)

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.