Board members welcomed to community trusts

File photo.

Mary-Anne Mcleod, Doctor Bruce Bryant and Colin Groves are the new directors appointed by Tauranga City Council to the Bay Venues Limited board today, along with James McCarthy, Grant Neagle and Sylvia Willison who were appointed as new trustees to the Tauranga Art Gallery Trust board.

Appointment Panel Chair, Councillor Max Mason, welcomes all new board members, who will begin their roles on May 1.

“Council values its partnership with its council-controlled organisations (CCOs). All six board members join their respective boards at an exciting time, overseeing and supporting Bay Venues Limited and Tauranga Art Gallery Trust to deliver on their key strategic priorities, while making an important contribution in helping Tauranga City Council successfully deliver our community outcomes,” Councillor Max Mason says.  

Michael Smith, who takes over from Peter Farmer in May as Bay Venues Limited’s Chair, is delighted to welcome Mary-Anne, Bruce and Colin to the board.

“Our new directors have big shoes to fill, following on from Peter and Murray Gutry, who have both made significant contributions to Bay Venues over six plus years as Chair and Director, for which we are extremely grateful” says Michael.

“We‘re looking forward to working with Mary-Anne, Bruce and Colin. Their skillsets and experience complement those of our current board members and will further enhance the contribution that the recreation and events sectors bring to this region.

“Mary-Anne is already well known to many in the Bay, bringing considerable asset management experience, while Bruce has strong commercial acumen, bringing vast and diversified experience across the community and education sectors.

“Colin has fantastic connections here in the Bay and across in the Waikato, which will prove invaluable when we’re looking for potential partnership funding opportunities,” says Michael.

Mary-Anne Macleod is the former CEO of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, with senior community leadership and executive management experience, including a $120 million operating budget and a large capital expenditure and asset management programme. Mary-Anne is a member of the Institute of Directors, and is currently serving on the boards of National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research and House of Science.

Doctor Bruce Bryant is an Independent Director and Audit and Risk Committee Chair of Core Education Limited. Based in Auckland, Bruce travels frequently to Tauranga in his role as Chair of Te Tuinga Whanau Support Services Trust. A member of the Institute of Directors, Bruce is the former Chair of Auckland Regional Migrant Services Charitable Trust board.

Colin Groves is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and currently Chair of Oriens Capital private equity firm in Tauranga, as well as an independent director of SeaDragon and Sprout agritech accelerator. He is also Chair of the Board Appointments Committee for Quayside Holdings Limited and an independent non-executive chairman of Global Sustainable Farming and Waikato Rugby Union.

Tauranga Art Gallery Trust Chair, Peter Anderson, is also delighted to welcome their new board members.

“The new trustees take the reins from Simon Clarke and Tina Harris-Ririnui, who have both made significant contributions to Tauranga Art Gallery Trust during their terms. James brings considerable experience in the arts, while Grant has strong commercial acumen and Sylvia brings significant governance experience and mana whenua connections here in the Bay,” says Peter.

James McCarthy is a highly qualified and experienced arts professional based in Whakatane. James’ experience includes Manager at Auckland Elam Fine Arts School, Art Gallery Director and subsequently Board Member at Te Tuhi Public Art Gallery, Pakuranga.

James is currently Chair of the Contemporary Art Foundation, with an extensive understanding of art gallery operations and CCO relationships.

Grant Neagle is a former Director of PwC in Hamilton and current Director of Ingham Mora, Tauranga. Grant has extensive experience in all aspects of financial, trust and taxation matters and experience in strategic and business planning as they relate to commercial and not for profit entities.

Sylvia Willison is of Ngai Tamarawaho hapu and Ngati Ranginui iwi. Currently CEO of Huria Charitable Trust, Sylvia served on the BOP Polytechnic Council for six years and on the Poutiri Trust for six years.

She is currently a Trustee on the Nga Hapu o Ngati Ranginui Settlement Trust, representing one of her two hapu affiliations. Sylvia has the mana, connections and experience to become a valued contributor to the Tauranga Art Gallery Board.

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.