42nd National Youth Jazz Competition winners

Performers at the 42nd National Youth Jazz Competition. Photos: Daniel Hines

The 42nd National Youth Jazz Competition held at Baycourt Community and Arts Centre on Friday April 5 and Saturday April 6 featured the most competitors in its 42-year history says National Youth Jazz Competition Director Liam Ryan.
“We had a record number of 380 registrations from 21 secondary schools as far and wide as Wellington to Kerikeri," says Liam.
The judges’ Dr Rodger Fox and Dave Wilson from New Zealand School of Music (NZSM), Gwyn Reynolds, Mike Story and Joe McCallum from ARA Christchurch, and Dixon Nacey from University of Auckland were impressed by the standard of performance from the young musicians.
Head Judge Dr Rodger Fox felt the standard of combos and big bands was improving year to year, in large part due to the schools returning to the competition and building on their performances each time.
“It’s very encouraging to see the competition continuing to grow; it shows it is valued by the schools,” says Rodger. “The bands are very receptive to feedback and this is showing in the band performances. It’s great to see students really working on improvisational playing.”
After performing, the combos and big bands had a workshop with a judge, receiving immediate feedback on their performance.
Manager Liam Ryan says this year’s National Youth Jazz Competition showcased the best of youth jazz in the country.
“The standard of performances is incredibly high, with jazz becoming a popular part of the New Zealand school music curriculum. The students blew us away again this year with their musicality and their enthusiasm.
“It’s great to see the students performing in a limousine theatre like Baycourt’s Addison Theatre – they get the full experience of performing on a big stage to a large appreciative audience. We love that Tauranga comes out and supports them too.”
He adds that the National Youth Jazz Competition is a major logistical exercise for schools and for the organising team.
“A big thank you must go out to the school musical directors, young performers who played their hearts out, and parents and support teams who come along and make it happen.”
The Best of Festival Trophy for the most outstanding jazz band was presented to Thomas the Tank Engine from Tauranga Girls' College with the New Orleans Trophy for most outstanding Big Band going to Tauranga Boys' College. The Norman Family Trophy for Best Jazz Combo was won by Auckland Grammar School.
“We are very grateful to our sponsors for their support in hosting this event. It has been a wonderful two days of youth jazz and it feels more like we are developing a national music community than a competition,” concludes Liam.
The 42nd National Youth Jazz Competition showcases the very best of emerging jazz players from secondary schools across New Zealand.
For 2019 the National Youth Jazz Competition occurred two weeks prior to the 57th National Jazz Festival being held at Easter, due to the timing of Easter and school holidays. There were two days of competition and a special concert on Friday April 5 which featured South Island jazz masters Sumo Jazz with guest judges Dr Rodger Fox, Dr Dave Wilson and Dixon Nacey.
The 42nd National Youth Jazz Competition is sponsored by Tauranga City Council, TECT, ARA, The University of Auckland, New Zealand School of Music: Victoria University of Wellington, SAE Institute, Music Planet, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology, Pub Charity, Grassroots Trust, The Southern Trust, and Dr Toot.
National Youth Jazz Competition Winners:
Tauranga Boys' College
Auckland Grammar School Combo
GEORGE RAWIRI TROPHY for the Most Outstanding Young Musician
Benjamin Lerner, Auckland Grammar School
BEST OF FESTIVAL TROPHY- Most Outstanding Jazz Band
Thomas The Tank Engine, Tauranga Girls' College
SOUNZ TROPHY – Best performance of a NZ composition
"Queen of Hearts" Kerikeri High School Jazz Band
RODGER FOX TROPHY - Most Outstanding Trombonist
Reuben Stephens, Tauranga Boys' College
DAVE FEEHAN TROPHY - Most Outstanding Vocalist
Ngarangi Sadlier-Patmore, Sacred Heart College
EDWINA THORNE TROPHY - Most Outstanding Trumpet or Flugel
James Robinson, Tauranga Boys' College
TOM BAYLISS TROPHY - Most Outstanding Clarinetist
Gillian Toala, Kerikeri High School
MAYERS MUSIC CENTRE TROPHY - Most Outstanding Guitarist
Elijah McPherson, Auckland Grammar
BAY CITY MUSIC TROPHY - Most Outstanding Keyboard Player
Samuel Wilcox-Brown, Whangaparaoa College
P&S PENMAN TROPHY - Most Outstanding Bassist
Thomas J Moore, Rongotai College
HILL/WILCOCK TROPHY - Most Outstanding Drummer
Tivoli Levi, Auckland Grammar
BILL HOFFMEISTER TROPHY - Most Outstanding Pianist
Troy Weenink, Tauranga Boys' College
ERROL CHRISTIANSEN TROPHY - Most Outstanding Flautist
Ririn Takana, Kuranui College
YANAGISAWA TROPHY – Most Outstanding Saxophonist
Benjamin Lerner, Auckland Grammar School
BAKER/ALLEN TROPHY - Best Arrangement
"Smoke On The Water" Diminished 5th Combo, Kerikeri High School
KEN MITCHELL TROPHY - Best Original Composition
"Rifflections", James Dawes, Diminished 5th, Kerikeri High School
DENNIS HUGGARD TROPHY - Best First Year Performance Band
St Cuthbert's College Stage Band
DEREK JACOMBS TROPHY - Award for Innovation
Diminshed 5th Combo, Kerikeri High School
LAUREN ELLIS TROPHY – Best Big Band Drummer
Rex McKee, Rongotai College
Big Band Awards:
GOLD - Auckland Grammar School , Tauranga Boys' College , Pukekohe High School, Westlake Girls & Westlake Boys High School
SILVER - Avondale College, Rongotai College, St Cuthberts College, Orewa College,Wellington College and Wellington Girls College, Otumoetai College, St Peters College, Trident High School, Bethlehem College, St Pauls Collegiate
Combo Awards:
GOLD - Mason Jar - Tauranga Boys College, Avondale College Quartet, Thomas the Tank Engine - Tauranga Girls College, Auckland Grammar Combo, Isn't It - Rongotai College
SILVER - Five Spot Combo - Avondale College, No Time for Kai - Tauranga Boys College, Diminished 5th - Kerikeri High School, 52nd Street Combo - Avondale College, Route 65 - Sacred Heart College Upper Hutt, Milestones - St Cuthberts College, PHS Quintet - Pukekohe High School, Whangaparaoa College Senior Jazz Combo
BRONZE - Blue Note Combo - Avondale College, Kerikeri High School Jazz Band, Kikorangi - Kuranui College, Whangaparaoa College Stage Combo

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.