Scholarships ease pressure of uni life

The winners, from left, are Seamus McCann, Emily Rutherford-Smith, George Robinson, Haven Banks, Seeun Park, Dewni Fernando, Pianika Ormsby, Maia Burggraaf, Kerry Parkinson, Damian Torwick, Heidi Henshaw, Connor Garner and Kristin Brown.

The Bay of Plenty Education Trust is investing another $108,000 in the tertiary education of students in the region.

Thirteen Western Bay of Plenty students have been named as recipients of the BOP Education Trust’s recently awarded Science, Technology and Emerging Industries Scholarships.

They are joined by five Eastern Bay of Plenty recipients. Each will receive $6000.

The WBOP recipients have been named as Heidi Henshaw and Pianika Ormsby (Tauranga Girls’ College), Seeun Park (Bethlehem College), Connor Garner and Damien Torwick (Tauranga Boys’ College), Haven Banks (Papamoa College), George Robinson and Dewni Fernando (Otumoetai College), Kristin Brown (Katikati College), Kerry Parkinson and Maia Burggraaf (Mount Maunganui College), Seamus McCann (Aquinas College) and Emily Rutherford-Jones (Te Puke High School).

Each year the trust gifts scholarships to as many as 20 students graduating from coastal high schools and colleges between Katikati and Opotiki.

As of the end of last year, 290 students had gained scholarships worth $1,372,250. Colleges with more than 1000 students are eligible for two scholarships, and winners are determined by the individual colleges/high schools.

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.