Burling misses awards dinner

Emirates Team NZ helmsman and Tauranga Yacht and power Boat Club member Peter Burling. Photo: Richard Hodder/Emirates Team NZ

Team New Zealand helmsman and Tauranga sailor Peter Burling missed out on the Halberg Awards dinner in Auckland last night, as he’s currently somewhere south of Taiwan on board the Volvo Ocean 65 yacht Team Brunel.

While Team Brunel was leading the Volvo Ocean Race pack out from the lee of Taiwan into the Western Pacific Ocean, his team mates were presented last night with the supreme Halberg Award by Halberg Disability Sport Foundation patron the Governor-General, The Rt Hon Dame Patsy Reddy.

Long-time Emirates Team New Zealand sailor Ray Davies accepted the award on behalf of the entire team.

“Obviously this award is about ‘team’ so I am accepting the award on behalf of the 90 team members and their families that came together against so many more odds than people realise but believed in each other to work so relentlessly for three years to win back the America’s Cup.”

Emirates Team New Zealand COO Kevin Shoebridge is delighted with the recognition of the Supreme Award and the Team of the year category because of the significance of the team work culture that runs deep within Emirates Team New Zealand.

“I am especially proud of the team because of the effort and collective drive everyone had to win. There was no single person in the team that was deemed more valuable than the next and the effort and determination that was required to win in Bermuda, was done for each other which was more powerful than any individual motivations,” says Kevin.

Team New Zealand winning the greatest prize in sailing to lift the Auld Mug in Bermuda saw them named Team of The Year ahead of Black Ferns, Blacks Sox and the Women’s K2500m team of Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Ryan.

The Halberg Awards is the nation’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting excellence by New Zealand teams and athletes in 2017 and raise funds for Sir Murray Halberg’s charity the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern presented Whakatane’s Lisa Carrington with the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year for the second year.  Lisa, who claimed medals in all her four events at the World Kayaking Championships – including two gold, edged out golfer Lydia Ko, Black Ferns Portia Woodman and double international Black Fern and Black Ferns Sevens player Sarah Goss.

Sophie Pascoe is the Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year for the fifth time. The Para swimmer who set six world records in 2017 was named ahead of Para athletes William Stedman and Holly Robinson and Para skier Corey Peters.

Shot putter Tom Walsh is Sportsman of the Year after becoming New Zealand’s first male to win an IAAF Track and Field Championship. Walsh headed off All Black Beauden Barrett, Formula One driver Brendon Hartley and Blackcap Ross Taylor for the win.

Gordon Walker is the Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year for the second year running. Walker, who guided four canoe racing boats, including Lisa Carrington, to medals at the World Kayak Championships was named ahead of  Black Sox coach Mark Sorenson, Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore and rowing coach Gary Hay.

Track cyclist Ellesse Andrews, who won the individual pursuit and a world record at the UCI Junior Track World Championships in 2018 received the Emerging Talent award.  Andrews was named ahead of sailor Josh Armit, freeskiier Nico Porteous and rower Matthew MacDonald.

Crusader Mitchell Hunt’s last minute drop goal to secure the win against the Highlanders was chosen as New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of 2017 – the only award voted on by the public.

During the ceremony All Blacks coach Steve Hansen was presented the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award. Rob Waddell was inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame and Morrie Chandler was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award for services to motorsport.

The annual Halberg Awards is the major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation, the charity set up by Olympic champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ) in 1963 to enhance the lives of physically disabled young New Zealanders by enabling them to participate in sport and recreation.

The core work of Halberg is a team of Advisers based around the country who connect physically disabled young people to sport and recreation opportunities. The Halberg Advisers also deliver inclusive training on adapting sports and support clubs, schools and organisations to provide inclusive events and programmes.

The Foundation also hosts the Halberg Junior Disability Games - a national three day sports competition for physically disabled young people.

 “It’s fantastic to be able to recognise another outstanding year of sport while also celebrating 55th years of the Halberg Awards and Sir Murray’s vision that sport should be possible for all New Zealanders.” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation. 

Full list of winners and finalists for the 55th Halberg Awards:

Supreme Halberg Award winner: Emirates Team NZ (Yachting)

Finalists: Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing), Tom Walsh (Athletics), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year winner: Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing)

Finalists: Lydia Ko (Golf), Portia Woodman (Rugby Union), Sarah Goss (Rugby Union).

Sportsman of the Year winner: Tom Walsh (Athletics)

Finalists: Beauden Barrett (Rugby Union), Brendon Hartley (Motorsport), Ross Taylor (Cricket).

Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)

Finalists: Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Holly Robinson (Para athletics), William Stedman (Para athletics).

Team of the Year winner: Emirates Team NZ (Yachting)

Finalists: Black Ferns (Rugby Union), Black Sox (Softball), Women’s K2 – Lisa Carrington & Caitlin Ryan (Canoe Racing).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (Canoe Racing)

Finalists: Gary Hay (Rowing), Glenn Moore (Rugby Union), Mark Sorenson (Softball).

Emerging Talent winner: Ellesse Andrews (Cycling)

Finalists: Josh Armit (Yachting), Matthew MacDonald (Rowing), Nico Porteous (Freeski).

New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment winner: Mitchell Hunt (Rugby Union)

Finalists: Martin Guptill (Cricket), Mitchell Hunt (Rugby Union), Michael Venus (Tennis), Black Ferns Sevens (Rugby Union), Emirates Team New Zealand (Yachting), Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber (Motorsport), Black Sox (Softball), Tom Walsh (Athletics), Black Ferns (Rugby Union), Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing), Ross Taylor (Cricket).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Steve Hansen (Rugby)

Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Morrie Chandler (Motorsport)

Hall of Fame inductee: Rob Waddell (Rowing)

More on SunLive...
You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
There are no comments on this article.